Home Alone 2: Lost in New York Soundtrack

Release Year: 1992

Rating: 7/10

Believe it or not, Christmas is only a week away. Though the holiday is meant to bring cheer and joy, sometimes the days leading up to Christmas are more exciting than the holiday itself. Drinking hot cocoa, listening to Christmas music, seeing pretty lights strung up everywhere, and, of course, Christmas specials. Every year without fail, I watch the first two Home Alone movies. Yes, I can practically quote both movies. It’s a holiday tradition and I love wearing a holiday shirt, sitting next to the tree, and watching Kevin McCallister take down some bumbling criminals. Even though I’ve seen the movies more times than I can count, I never thought about their soundtracks. There’s four in the series: an original score for each movie, a soundtrack for the second, and the last one a re-release of the Home Alone 2 soundtrack. This year, I thought it’d be fun to give the Home Alone 2 soundtrack a spin and see what it’s about.

The soundtrack is mix of traditional holiday songs with some modern (at the time) interpretations. What I like most about the soundtrack is how it has songs taken straight from the movie. You’ll hear Bobby Helm’s rendition of “Jingle Bell Rock,” which is my favorite version solely because of this movie. Played during the scene where Kevin loses his shorts in the pool, I always end the song with him exclaiming “Yikes!” in my mind. The album also features Jonny Mathis singing “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot like Christmas,” which always makes me think of Tim Curry’s smug smile when he learns of Kevin’s credit card fraud. There’s also Alan Jackson’s version of “Holly Jolly Christmas,” which I don’t remember from the movie at all. It’s a pretty standard cover with a lot of country twang; nothing too spectacular.

But for traditionalists, there are also the classical holiday songs, many of which were also included in the movie. There’s “My Christmas Tree,” which you may remember from the beginning of the movie. Personally, I found this song boring without Kevin attacking Buzz in the middle of it. If anything it serves its nostalgic purpose. There’s also “Somewhere In my Memory” sung by Beth Midler, better known as the song that plays throughout the first two films. Again, not really my type of Christmas music. It’s pretty, but also sappy and too slow.

One of the best, but admittedly odd additions is “Cool Jerk” by The Capitols. But that’s not a Christmas song, you say. Home Alone fixes this by mixing in bits from the movie, mainly Uncle Frank singing in the shower. While listening to the song, you’ll hear Uncle Frank say “You’re cooking Frankie!” and of course the hilarious line “Get out of here you little pervert before I slap you silly!” Being one of the best scenes in the movie, there’s no question this is one my favorites on the album. But the best song on the album is TLC’s “Sleigh Ride.” This has always been one of my favorite Christmas songs and I was surprised to learn it was on this soundtrack. Something about it is cool and makes you want to dance. Left Eye’s raps are funny and sick, filled with her offbeat humor and awesome flow.

The album ends with two more sappy, slow holiday songs: “Christmas Star” and “Come All Ye Faithful.” I’ve never been a fan of these big, over the top, drawn out Christmas songs better suited for church. I find them boring and sometimes they’re just sad. They’re pretty, but not something I really want to sit through. The same goes for the more upbeat, but annoying “Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas.” It’s a beautiful score, but not very fun and jolly, which is how I prefer my holiday music. Plus, hearing a choir shriek “Merry Christmas” at the top of their lungs gets old really fast.

If anything, this soundtrack is a blast of nostalgia. Most of the songs I had a hard time thinking about them outside the movie. There are some genuinely good Christmas tunes here, but I found most to be boring, bland, and too slow. If I saw this soundtrack, I would buy just because I love the movie so much. I mean, I have a Home Alone 2 board game I have yet to play. But it’s not something I would put on while trimming the tree. The original scores for both films are much better being both joyful and beautiful. You want a good Christmas album? Look elsewhere. You want an injection of nostalgia? This is the record to pick up.

Leave a Reply

