Four Years Blogging and There’s Still so Much to Say

Believe it or not I’ve been blogging now for four years. I missed the anniversary almost a month ago thanks to a mass workload, but I wanted to take a minute to address it along with why I started the site in the first place. When I started this site I didn’t have any disillusions about becoming internet famous or getting popular so fast publishers were trying to give book deals. I wasn’t even trying to make money. I was a fresh graduate with a lot of free time who wanted to talk about music. I wanted to learn why I loved and cherished certain music and detested others. My friends didn’t care about my thoughts on the latest Green Day album or whether or not the latest Nirvana re-release was actually worth it. So, I decided to share my thoughts online and hoped at least one other person would be interested enough to follow my ramblings and opinions.

Also, I hate most reviews by major magazines. They’re often written by people who don’t like a certain artist in the first place. They use a lot of fucked up metaphors that may sound good, but do shit all when trying to convey if an album is good or not. I wanted my reviews to be straight forward, yet detailed. If I hated a song I wanted to to express just what it was that made it so bad. Doing this also helped me expand my tastes and find new artists to obsess over. I also figure out which albums I’ve been ignoring for way too long.

Most of all I just wanted to have fun and listen to music everyday. It sucks that I don’t have as much time as I used to to dedicate to the site because I have other writing duties, but I still try to make time. I don’t need fame or recognition to keep me going. I’m just happy when someone drops me a comment saying they enjoyed a review. Even if they don’t agree with what I said I like exchanging different views with other music fans. Honestly, I wasn’t sure how many followers I’d get when I started this four years ago. Now, there are over 100 of you following and I can’t thank you enough. Even though I started the blog for me, I don’t think I would’ve kept it going for this long if no one was interested. For followers new and old, or anyone who has stopped by for one article, thank you for taking time out of your day and reading my stuff. Hopefully, I’ve helped a few of you find some new albums or artists to check out. The site can’t go on forever, but as long as I keep being a music nerd and people still put up with my rants, I’ll keep the blog going for as long as I can.

Here’s to another year blogging.

Leave a Reply

