Mini Music Movie Review: Spice World (1996)

Spice_world

I’m not ashamed of the fact that I was a huge Spice Girls fan. I mean had all the dolls, lunchboxes, and lollipops huge. And I still love their music. So it’s no surprise I begged my mom to take me to this movie when it first came out. While she didn’t take me to the theater, we did rent it and I thought it was the best movie ever. With 90’s nostalgia still riding high, I watched the movie again wondering if it was as good as I remembered. It wasn’t. At all.

While the movie has it’s few entertaining moments, it’s mostly painfully cheesy. In terms of plot there is none. It’s like they crammed seven different movies into one: action, comedy, romance, musical etc. I guess they were going for A Hard Day’s Night vibe, but they missed the target by a long shot. One minute they’re trying to avoid the paparazzi, who is trying to ruin their good reputation, the next they’re helping their friend deliver a baby in a tour bus. Just when you think it can’t get weirder they’re stopped by aliens who want to get a picture with the girls. Yes, you read that right. They are stopped by aliens. But do they bring this up again later in the movie? Not even once. Somewhere along the line a bomb gets on their bus that doesn’t even go off until the end credits.

Also, they really stretch out the whole “spice” thing. Every girl is defined by her nick name, so Baby is always eating candy and is naïve, Posh is always complaining about clothes, Scary is always wearing leopard print and being loud, Ginger is being sexy and somewhat slutty, and Sporty is always flipping and sticking up for the other girls so much that they play her off as a lesbian. There are some cute moments where they keep reinforcing their friendship is forever message, like when they all switch costumes become one of the other girls. Sometimes the moments are funny, but most of them just make you groan with anguish. And there’s no question that the acting is bad. The most enjoyable thing about the film are the performances of which there are a lot.

Watching the film again I wasn’t expecting much, but I didn’t think it was so predictable and corny. I don’t see how I managed to see this film three times and make it all the way through. This is the type of film that’s the most fun when you’re watching it with friends. Otherwise, you begin to question your life and how you got to the point of watching this bad movie. It’s not a good film, it’s not even particularly funny. If you want to hear Spice Girl songs, just get the album and avoid this thing. It’s only suitable for drunken nights with friends.

Leave a Reply

