Mini Music Movie Review: Control (2007)

This is a new thing where I briefly talk about music related movies I have seen, what they’re about, and whether or not they are worth your time. The movies can be based on actual musicians or fictional bands (like Spinal Tap). And I’m always open to music movie suggestions, so if you got a movie you think I should see let me know in the comments section or let me know on my Twitter. So let me know if you like this idea and whether you would like to see more of it. The movie that’s kicking off this section is Control.

When I first heard about this movie I was pretty intrigued. This movie follows the rise and fall of 80’s band Joy Division. More specifically, it follows the tragic story of the band front man Ian Curtis. I’m not a huge Joy Division fan, but I always thought Curtis was interesting because he’s represented as a tragic figure in music. And I was really glad I checked it out. It’s a great movie for a mega fan or anyone who is just remotely interested in the band. It gives you some great information and insight about the makings of the band and all the problems Curtis was dealing with at this point of his life. I’m not sure if people who are very familiar with the band will learn anything new, but I know I did. If anything, you learn just how dark Curtis’ world was. And even though most know how this story ends (in suicide) the movie will still have you in anticipation wondering what set him over the edge.

The style of the film is really cool too. It’s filmed completely in black and white, so it not only gives you the feeling of a Joy Division music video; it also represents the bleak, depressing tone as well. Also, I’ve seen enough Joy Division performances to get an idea of Curtis’ stage presence and the guy who played him, Sam Riley, did an excellent job. It was like he was channeling the front man from his look to his infamous dance moves. There are also a number of performance scenes that feature some of the band’s most popular songs including “Love Will Tear Us Apart.” If I remember correctly, the actor actually sang most of the songs himself and he did a damn good job. I was really blown away by his overall performance.

I definitely recommend this move whether you love the band or are just interested in general. It’s a great film, with some interesting information, and some really convincing actors. The story is interesting and the performances are awesome. If you have some free time over the weekend or looking for something to watching on holiday break, check out this movie.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

