In Time to Voices- Blood Red Shoes

Release Year: 2012

Rating: 7.5/10

This band has been recently brought to my attention, so I decided to check out their newest album. Besides, any band that’s inspired by Nirvana is okay in my book. I had the privilege of receiving their third album In Time to Voices for free, so of course it’s the one that I reviewed. Now, I have never heard the band before so I don’t know if their music differs on their previous releases. I’m just going by what I thought about this album. For me, this record goes between really awesome and kind of boring. Some of the songs are really slow and while they don’t sound bad, they just couldn’t hold my attention, but some of them are so good you wish there were more of them here.

The album opens with the title track “In Time to Voices.” It’s an interesting way to open the album because the song isn’t very fast, but it still manages to rock out. The sound of the song is really cool too. It’s hard to describe, but it’s like indie rock and garage rock got married and this is their offspring. Plus, when the drummer comes in to add vocals it really keeps the song going. Their voices just sound really good together. One great song found here is “Two Dead Minutes.” It opens with this cool buzzy, feedback noise that gives off this haunting feeling. It sort of unnerves you because your first thought is “what is that?” Compared to some of the other songs here, this song is pretty soft, but it has some interesting, thought provoking lyrics. One of my favorite lines is “Muscle memory is moving you/asleep and walking on both feet.” Something about that line is cool, yet creepy at the same time.

For the most part, the songs are pretty good, but my favorite one is “Je me Peds.” It’s the fastest, most energetic song on the album. Sadly, it’s also one of the shortest. The drumroll at the beginning reminds me of the drumming from “Stay Away” by Nirvana, so you know it’s gotta be good. Since there’s so much distortion on the vocals, you can’t understand a word they’re saying. But the song is so awesome you don’t care. After hearing this track, it really makes me wish more songs like this were on the album. They can obviously rock out, but they seem to hold themselves back.

Another great song is “Down Here in the Dark.” This song is more like the slow, drudging rock similar to Queens of the Stoneage. I actually think that they may have been an inspiration for this track because the way the drummer stretches out the vocals while he’s singing reminds me of the way Josh Homme sings. It even has that drug induced feeling that most QOTSA songs have. I especially love the vocals here because they sound gruff and harsh, which the drummer does really well.

My biggest complaint for the album are the amount of soft songs here. It’s not that they sound bad, I think I don’t do well with really soft songs. And most of them like “7Years” are slow to the point where I lost interest. The track “Stop Kicking” has the same problem. There’s nothing about it to make it stand out, even the music sounds similar to another song. But some songs work the softer sound really well. “The Silence and the Drones” has this dream like quality that’ll make you fall in love with it, but with most of the slow songs I guess you gotta be in the right mood.

What I think is most interesting about the band is how they never fit into one genre of music. On some songs they sound really indie, on others they sound garage rock all the way. And on others still they sound like they mesh together indie, punk, and rock to create their own sound. Also, I love how they alternate the vocals. It works well for the band and it keeps things interesting. Plus, when they sing together they sound really great. I usually don’t like soft spoken female singers like this one, but I think for the type of music they’re making it works pretty well. It also helps that she’s a badass guitarist.

Overall, the album gets 7.5/10. This is a band you can easily fall in love with. On some of the songs they show they have the energy, edge, and attitude of other harder bands. Even on the slow songs they bring their A game. And if you love duos like The White Stripes and The Black Keys, then these guys are right up you’re alley. If you’re not a huge fan of soft, slow songs then most of the songs may annoy you, but there are some awesome ones in the mix that’ll be enough to make you check out their other work.

One comment

Leave a Reply

