“Temper Temper”- Bullet for my Valentine

Release Year: 2012

Rating: 7/10

Over the past couple of years Bullet For My Valentine has become one of my absolute favorite bands. I just love how they manage to be heavy and melodic at the same time. They can scream their hearts out, but at least it doesn’t sound like Cookie Monster. So when I heard that BFMV had a new song out, I stopped what I was doing to hear it. And when I first heard it, I wasn’t all that impressed. It’s not the most horrible song out there, but it’s not as good as their other material. But there more I heard it, the more it grew on me. I even found myself singing it in my head. It’s decent enough, but still far from their best.

BFMV songs usually have pretty sweet guitar riffs and it’s no different here. The song starts out with an awesome trilling riff that starts to get you pumped for what’s to come. It’s also pretty great because at least it doesn’t sound too similar to what they have done in the past. What’s interesting about the guitar is that it doesn’t sound as heavy as it has it the past. It’s still energetic and aggressive. It’s just not as harsh as it’s been on their other material. It’s not a bad thing, but it’s something that may put off some fans. For the most part, the music is pretty awesome.

Where the song gets bad are the lyrics. I feel that they’re weak and don’t mesh very well together. For some reason the opening line kind of put me off: “This time you better bite your tongue/Think twice before you open that mouth/Save your breath hold it in your lungs.” And though the chorus may be a bit catchy, it’s still pretty simple and repetitive: “Temper temper time to explode/feels good when I lose control.” What makes the lyrics sound even worse is the way Matt Tuck is singing. Now, I don’t have a problem if there is a lack of screamo vocals here, but the spoken word thing he’s doing during the verse doesn’t work well at all. I think the song would’ve fared much better if he just would’ve stuck with his normal vocals.

Overall, the song gets 7/10. It’s not their best song by any means and when you first hear you may hate it. But it’s the type of song that has the potential to grow on you, especially since the chorus of “temper temper” is so simple that it can easily get stuck in your head. The lyrics are pretty weak and the vocals are really strange for the band, but it has enough energy, aggression, and cool guitar riffs that will get fans excited for their upcoming album.

2 comments

  1. Bullet used to be one of my favourite bands, over the last year my enthusiasm for the has dropped. this track didnt help things. its different, but unfortunately not good different. i agree its refreshing to see a different kind of video though, even if it is a bit of a lame one.

    1. Yeah this song is okay..and they new song they released is decent too, but so far I haven’t heard anything that makes me super hyped for the new album. I still can’t wait to hear it, but these songs make me worry that it won’t be as good as their last one, which I loved. I guess we’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

